Uncategorized

The Times They are a Changin’

Change is good right?  Of course.  Without change we end up stagnant.  There is no progress, no innovation.  Life becomes rote and without meaning.

When faced with change we all react in different ways.  Sometimes it can be due to the nature of the change or the way in which is has come about.  Generally we react better to change we have chosen for ourselves than change that has been forced upon us.

For me the last couple of years have had a lot of sameness and a lot of change.  I took up (and later stopped) tap dancing.  I started Writing (well that still needs a  LOT of work).  I took up Salsa dancing (which I love love love).  I also went and worked in a foreign country. 

The last one was a magnificent experience of which I enjoyed every moment (well apart from a couple of the plane trips).  I met new people, ate new food, had a new work routine, saw new things and experienced a whole new culture.  Hong Kong is a sensational place and I highly recommend it.

One of the best things that came out of that experience was finally pushing myself outside of my box for the first time in a long time.  I was terrified before I went even though I knew there wasn’t actually anything to be afraid of.  I knew that if I just moved past being afraid I’d have a great time.  Once I was actually on my way I was so excited I was almost beside myself and the experience was better than I expected.

Once again I have change facing me and while some of it is under my control, some of it is being pushed onto me.  And once again I am simultaneously terrified and excited.  I need the change, I know it will be good for me but give that I dont know yet what all the options are or where I will land, I am sure. 

Nothing is sure in life and I know how to roll with the punches.  I shall cast myself into the unknown, eyes open and arms outstretched.  Let’s see where I land.

Leave a Reply

