Uncategorized

My 30 Day Challenge – Day 1

On a recent foray into the world of Google+ (more info on that in a later post), I came across an awesome little TED talk. I love TED.com, you can learn heaps and most of all it can be so inspiring. This one has inspired me recently:
http://www.ted.com/talks/matt_cutts_try_something_new_for_30_days.html
In it Matt Cutts talks about finally getting around to doing all the things you’ve always said you wanted to do. Want to learn Italian? Try it for 30 days! Want to take up running? Try it for 30 days!

It’ll stick or it wont.

That’s the joy of it. You try something and maybe you’ll decide you love it so much that you’ll keep on doing it OR you’ll realise it wasn’t as cool/interesting/fun/challenging as you thought. Either way you can cross it off you list as something you achieve.

I found this very inspiring so I started to give some thought as to what I might want to do as my first 30 day challenge. Being the kind of girl who enjoys input, I went out to my Facebook friends. What did they suggest?

Apparently my Facebook friends all things I’m overweight (they could be right) or not healthy enough (again this is likely true) as all the suggestions involved depriving myself of something – eg sugar or some form of excercise torture.

This was not exactly what I had in mind but might be worth considering at a later (much later) time.

I let it simmer for a while and today while I was sitting in the sun on my balcony, feeling those first twinges of summer, I knew what my challenge should be.

My goals for a while now have been centred around writing and while I have been writing more and slowly (very slowly) improving, I haven’t been writing every day which means I’m not improving quickly enough.

This blog has been greatly ignored and I haven’t advertised it to anyone because I know it’s pretty crappy. But you know what, it wont get better until I start to work on it properly, until I spend some time writing. It’s not going to be as interesting or witty as some blogs I follow (including my best friends blog check it out here!) but I’m going to work on it.

I should also comment that this challenge was partly inspired by Joe Mallozzi who also set himself the challenge to blog everyday and given his day job (writer, producer, showrunner of Transporter: the Series and previously the Stargate franchise) I realised that if he could do it so could I and I needed to just stop being lazy.

So drumroll please……

My first 30 day challenge is to blog every day for 30 days. There might be some terrible entries and there might be some good(ish) ones. I guess we’ll see. Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “My 30 Day Challenge – Day 1

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge – I made it! « shaggygirl

Leave a Reply

