Books

Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Today was too busy and I am too exhausted from the previous nights shenanigans for a proper post, so here’s one I prepared earlier:

I am a voracious consumer of books – be that format paper in my hands, ebook on my ipad or Audibook in my ears. I love a good story. So, I thought if I’m going to share my random thoughts on other things, I should also share my thoughts on the books I read (or listen to).

The first of those is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

I must confess that I first heard of this book from a review written by someone I follow on Twitter. I am sorry to say I don’t remember who. What I do remember is that this book is a must-read AND not one to be read via electronic means. Well I am not always one to take advice but I hopped on board and tried this little gem.

It’s difficult to describe this book without giving too much away. It’s slightly creepy but in a good way. The story and the children are indeed peculiar, as is Miss Peregrine herself. The book is interpersed with “peculiar photographs” that are part of the story and yet are apparently real. You can judge that part for yourself but I do think they lend wonderful atmosphere to the story.

While I got a bit impatient early on while the protagonist floundered around a bit, this background was necessary and ultimate assisted in building up to some interesting revelations – some I expected, some I did not.

If you enjoy the unusual, the odd and slightly disturbing then you’ll greatly enjoy this book. The fact that it is published by Quirk Books added to my amused enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

