Life

New Girl

This week I started a new job. Same company, new role. After 5 years in the same role (though I did change and grow it, eventually it’s just more of the same thing) I was well and truly ready for a great big new challenge.

The new job is just such a great big new challenge. It will be visible though very high levels of my company and I’ll be playing in a field I haven’t done before. I’m not scared though. I know my own skillset and thanks to my friend that I’ll be working with, I’m confident I’ll be able to get the got job done and not make a fool of myself.

It’s not always like that though. I’ve started jobs where I’ve just absolutely had no idea, wondered why on earth they ever hired me and sure that shortly they’ll notice I have no clue and ask me to leave. No one ever has of course.

My first job in IT was like that. Running the office for an IT company. The girl I replaced seemed so confident, so sure of everything but I couldn’t work anything out at all. I thought I must be the stupidest girl on the planet.

After a couple of weeks though, it occurred to me that I could change things to work the way I wanted them to. I was in charge of the office now and so I arranged some things so that they made sense to me. The next day one of the guys commented that he loved the change because no one had been able to work out how the previous girl did things either. I couldn’t believe it! It wasn’t me, I wasn’t stupid. So I happily set about running the office my way.

Fast forward a good many years (I’m not telling, it’s a lot ok?). I’m back in the New Girl chair. Everything is confusing, I have no idea how it all hangs together and I feel useless. I’ve gotten used to be the one who knows how everything works, that everyone comes to (well that’s a rod for your own back I can tell you). I like knowing what I am doing. I do like learning. I like a new challenge but I’d like to be past this new girl dunce phase please.

Speaking of new girls, Zooey Deschanel is in a new show called New Girl. It’s cute and funny just like her. Well if I’m being honest it’s not the funniest pilot I’ve ever seen but it has a lot of potential and I’m looking forward to see where they take it. Make sure you check it out.

I wonder if Zooey and the crew go through those first teething stages. They must on a new show. Good luck to them.

I hope they hit their stride soon. I hope I do too.

2 thoughts on “New Girl

  1. Hi Shaz,

    As you know, but not all your readers do, I was there when you started your first job in IT. Everything you have said is correct – you replaced someone who was competent, but you were so much more than that. You made the job your own, and the only disappointment for me was that you were too good for the job you were doing (meaning that you would never be satisfied in your role in our company). It was a very sad day when you left us, but I also felt very happy for you because I always knew you were capable of much more than our little company could offer you.

    All the best for your new role. I’m sure you will make a huge success of it. Go get ’em girl!

    Cheers,
    Alan.

Leave a Reply

