Books / Life / TV

Weekly Snapshot – 25 September 2011


It’s seems I’ve started a small trend with this format – though to be fair, I wasn’t the one who came up with it. I’ve changed the name and sometimes the categories might change but I thought I’d do it like a kind of weekly roundup. Here’s what’s going on in my world right now:

Reading – The Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb. I have to admit I’ve made no progress here. I’ve been distracted with reading work material and trying to keep up with other people’s blogs. (Also playing Smurf’s Village but don’t tell anyone – I have three games going, do you think I have a problem?).

Listening to – Firestorm by Rachel Caine. Weather Wardens monitor and control the weather to keep things in check. Of course things go wrong and there is chaos, destruction and mayhem. Literally. The story is pacy and the stakes are high. Just what we like. The Narrator is Dina Pearlman who is excellent and well suited to the story. I do love when the Narrator and Story match properly. Next up, Thin Air.

Watching – Some of the new pilots for the new TV season. Person of Interest is a winner (how can it not be with Michael Emerson, mysterious as ever!) as I think Prime Suspect will be also. Strange that they changed the lead character’s surname though, I found that a bit distracting. Unforgettable is also good but I like Poppy Montgomery in anything. Cannot wait for Alcatraz.

There is also a new spin off from Waking the Dead called the Body Farm starring Tara Fitzgerald. I love British crime shows so it was always going to be a winner for me. Trevor Eve is a producer, I wonder if he will put in a guest appearance.

Buying – Apparently a swimsuit for my Cairns trip. I haven’t worn a bathing suit for a very long time. The idea of even trying one on makes me a bit queasy. of course everyone has their own issues and they are too busy worrying about them to consider mine. And I wouldn’t miss the chance to play in the water with my nephew because of a swimsuit phobia.

Making – sure my plants are all healthy for their growth season. Also trying to make sure I dont kill the lovely Orchid my sister-in-law bought me. I haven’t done very well with them before.

Planning – to go to the gym. Of course I’ve been “planning” that for weeks so I really should get on with it. (B says I shouuld go to her personal trainer but having someone monitor every morsel of food that goes in my mouth or the idea of paying someone to yell at me from 6am while I kill myself is not my idea of a good time).

Loving – The beautiful Spring weather we were having. I also enjoyed the rainy day today. I had a relaxing time pottering around my house, cleaning out my office (my desk tooks grand!).

I am also enjoying the bottle of Peter Lehmann “Eight Songs” 2005 Shiraz. Not a cheap drop but quite lovely so I’m making it last.

Finally, my admin girl from my last role sent me a beautiful card all the way from India with a lovely pair of earrings in it and a nice note telling me she’ll miss me. Wasn’t that such a nice thing to do?

Looking Forward to – a long weekend next weekend!

So what’s new with you?

Leave a Reply

