Life / Snapshot

Weekly Snapshot – 2 October 2011


Here’s what’s going on in my world right now:

Listening to – The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore. It the next instalment in the series starting I am Number Four. Pittacus Lore is the pseudonym for James Frey and Jobie Hughes. It’s a YA which I usually enjoy (yes I am an overgrown child). I’m quite enjoying it though it is definitely flawed. I’ve read reviews who don’t like the two different POVs. I don’t mind it but the book has a slightly rushed feeling as if it was churned out. There has been some dialogue which clearly shows men trying to speak as girls which hasn’t worked and some general dialogue that stands out purely from the “no one actually speaks like that” point of view. Otherwise it’s zipping along at a nice pace and though some things have been really obvious before they happen I don’t mind. The narrators are good for the age group. The male narrator struggled a bit at the beginning firstly with pacing and then with other voices but he definitely finds his footing and now is quite excellent.

Reading – Blood Bound by Rachel Vincent. I’ve literally only just started but am looking forward to this one. Rachel is exceptionally good at creating characters you LOVE or you really really really HATE. She seems to enjoy torturing her characters but goes for satisfying (not sappy endings). Of course one of my favourite things about her work is the snark factor. There’s always at least one (if not several) snarky characters. I do love me some good snark. She had been nervous about this book as it’s quite different from her previous work so I am keen to see whether I like it or not. I suspect I will. I also love the fact that I can Tweet her and tell her personally if I like it. How cool is that?

Watching – Some of the shows that I missed the ends of last year as the new seasons are starting up. Started watching Haven is which a bit quirky. I like quirky. I’ll also be watching the season finale of Doctor Who “The Wedding of River Song.” Of course I’ve also been watching Downton Abbey. It’s addictive!

Buying – A swimsuit. Still. I haven’t gotten around to doing it yet. Not working near shops at the moment has been a challenge to that. Plus I think my shopping gene is broken, it just doesn’t hold the appeal that it used to – except for online shopping, I do enjoy that but I have to restrain myself.

Speaking of buying, I’m also researching good To Do List Apps for the iPad/iPhone. Not so much for work but for myself. I haven’t decided which one yet though there are some contenders. Nothing beats a good handwritten list but I am trying to reduce my paper impact as much as I can so am attempting to do my list digitally. At least that way there will only be one list and I’ll know where it is.

Making – Nigella Hamburger Patties. In her book Nigella Express there is a great burger recipe which I use to make rissoles. They are really easy with only about 5 ingredients one of which is Worcestershire sauce (which I LOVE). I make up a big batch and freeze them individually so I can easily reheat them any time I need to. Such a great quick and easy meal.

Planning – well I still haven’t been to the gym. One day I’m sure. Other than that I am planning my US trip, planning for Cairns and generally trying to get myself sorted out so that I can be generally more efficient. We’ll see how that goes.

I am also planning to restart my 30 day challenge in October. Since I finished it I’ve been really slack with blogging and therefore writing in general using a new job and a bunch of other reasons as excuses. Which is what they are. Excuses. So I think I am back on the bandwagon. It’ll be a big challenge given I’ll be away for a week but I’ve handled that before. I am also seriously considering doing NaNoWriMo this year. For the non-writers in the audience it’s a writing challenge in November where you essentially crank out a 50,000 word book by the end. This requires 1,667 words each day. I am not sure I am up for it though it might be just what I need. I have considered doing it “unofficially” (ie not registering or publicly tracking) but knowing me that’ll just be an excuse to slack off. I’ll let you know what I decide.

Loving – The beautiful flowers that are presently filling my house. I went to the flower market yesterday as I woke up early and now my house is flower filled. I love it.
I am NOT loving the change to daylight saving. Oh I like daylight saving but I find the switch hard for some reason, it’s quite discombobulating.

Am also loving the long weekend. I am enjoying my new job but honestly long weekends are fantastic and no one loves work so much they’d rather be doing that. Am jealous of my family who, lucky things, get two long weekends in a row. Maybe I should be sick next Monday 😉

Looking Forward to – spending a week playing with my nephew. He’s an awesome little dude and we’re going to have such fun. Only a couple of weeks away!

So what’s going on in your world at the moment?

5 thoughts on “Weekly Snapshot – 2 October 2011

  1. 2 things:
    First, I need me some s2 Downton Abbey. Pretty please.
    Second, I’m really glad you’re doing the NaNoWriMo – I thought of you as soon as I saw it. You should definitely register – ‘unofficial’ entering is for pansies.

Leave a Reply

