Life

A bunch of excuses

So after declaring that I’d be blogging regularly again, I haven’t. In fact, I’ve been downright slack. I have a good excuse. Actually I’ve got several. But really they are just excuses.

You see at the moment I’m on holidays. An actual holiday holiday where you leave your hometown and go elsewhere – preferably somewhere sunny and laze around by the pool. This is, in fact, exactly what I’ve done.

My lovely sister and her husband invited me on a trip to Queensland. He was going to a conference and my sister and their baby were going along. So she wouldn’t be wandering around all the time on her own, they invited me too. Well who am I to say no? (I’m not completely stupid).

We’ve had a great time. There’s been a lot of pool lounging. Usually in the pool. Some drinking, some eating. A lot of walking. I’ll do a post all about it because I was pretty impressed with where we were.

What there hasn’t been is a lot of writing and honestly there needed to be a lot. You see next month I’ve signed up to do NaNoWriMo and I’m completely unprepared.

I’d planned to do a whole post on how I was preparing for NaNoWriMo but the truth is that I haven’t. My particular story has been floating around in my brain for a while so parts of it are quite developed. I’ve written a few scenes and I know the main characters. However, I read some of the preparation others have been doing I am quite shamed.

Where are my character profiles? Where is my detailed outline? Where is my short outline for that matter? My settings are sketchy and given that my story is set in the future, I dont even know what my characters are wearing (what will be the fashion statement in 200 years time? Anyone?

Before I was so relaxed on holidays I was busy at work. The kicker of course is that I’ll be busy at work when I get back just as I was before I left AND I’ll be doing NaNo. So…. the work thing, not such a great excuse.

Still all in all, I dont really regret it. I’ve had a great holiday, I am lovely and relaxed and slightly sunburnt. I’ll worry about all the stuff I have to do next week….. next week. When I’m not on holidays any more. I’m sad just thinking about it.

One thought on “A bunch of excuses

  1. It’s okay – I bet that, for every person who says they are super organised and preparing for Nano, there are just as many who are not prepared and will be pantsing it!

    My trouble is trying to get people to understand the concept of Nano and not look at me like I have a screw loose when I tell them about my unofficial participation. It will definitely be an interesting month. Go Team Shaggy!

Leave a Reply

