Life

Weekly Snapshot – 4 December 2011

Loving – That I got to spend some time with all of my nieces and nephews recently.

Reading – A Talent for War by Jack McDevitt This is the first of Alex Benedict books, the rest of which I have read.  I really enjoy these.  McDevitt is an excellent writer and he winds the necessary “historical facts” into the story without it becoming a boring pile of info.  This is the only book told from the viewpoint of Alex himself, from the next book the narration is handed over to Chase Kolpath his pilot and partner.  It’s interesting to see her character introduced when you already feel you know her well.  These books are pure sci-fi of the future and I like McDevitt’s vision.

Listening To – Inheritance by Christopher Paolini – This is the final book in the Inheritance Cycle and I’ve saved it as my reward for completing NaNoWriMo.  I’ll do a full review once I am done.  Other recent books I’ve listened to are Explosive Eighteen by Janet Evanovich (read by the always fabulous Audible Narrator of the Year – Lorelei King) and The Beasts of Clawston by Eva Ibbotson (read by David Tennant).  Reviews of these will be done soon.

Watching – Fright Night.  I have two confessions here.  The first is that I have never seen the original so I have no idea how close this version is.  However the screenplay was by Marti Noxon so you just can’t go wrong.  The second is that the real reason I watched it is because of David Tennant.  I love David Tennant who is strangely sexy.  He is delightfully campy as the Magician Vincent Price and it’s worth watching  just to see him prancing about in his leather pants and coat (I want that coat by the way). It’s clear he was having fun.  Colin Farrell is disturblingly  convincing as the Vampire.  Has anyone actually seen him out during the day?  Anyone?  Anton Yelstin and Toni Collett were fantastic as always but I suspect the roles weren’t much of stretch for them.  Not that every role needs to involve an oscar worthy performance, sometimes it’s just fun.  The movie ended differently than I expected, in a good way, but I’m not going to reveal that here.

Buying – Clothes.  Despite deciding not to buy any clothes yet I went shopping with my mother a bought a couple of very cute tops  in cobalt blue and burnt orange – a colour I’ve never worn before.

Planning – Jobs to do over the summer holidays.  You know, cleaning out the storage room, that kind of thing.  The list seems to be growing.

Looking forward to – It looks like there will be two overseas trips next week (not including if I travel for work).  I’m going to NY/Washington/Seoul in August.  I’ll also be going to New Zealand at some stage using the free tickets from Qantas but we haven’t worked out when yet.  I’m pretty excited as I’ve not been to any of these places before.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Snapshot – 4 December 2011

  1. I’ve heard really good things about that McDevitt series, I read one of his stand alones, forget the title, but I remember liking it.

    I so want to see Fright Night! if only for David Tennant. . .

  2. I know you meant “next year” rather than “next week”. If going to NZ, can I recommend the South Island rather than the North? Both have their charms, but the South Island is so incredibly beautiful. Unless you like big cities, in which case go to Auckland.

  3. Regarding the US trip, I have been to the Washington DC area lots of times. Five words: Smithsonian Air and Space Museum. Three words and an initial: Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, but really the hyphen is cheating. Oh, what the f***, there’s heaps to do in DC.

    I have no idea how Seoul fits into that itinerary, but I’m sure it makes sense to you. Having done some bizarre routings for my travels I could understand why you would pass through there, but you aren’t as obsessed by frequent flyer points as I am, so I’m guessing you actually need to do something in Seoul ;).

    [I have been through Bombay (Mumbai), Colombo, Narita (Tokyo), Dallas, Chicago, Bahrain, and Dubai, without ever actually visiting any of the cities.]

    • The friend that I am travelling with wanted to go to Seoul so off we go. Wonder if I can wrangle some work stuff while I’m there 😉

      Yeah the Smithsonian is the main reason I wanted to go to Washington. Any recommendations on areas to stay in?

Leave a Reply

