Adventures / Life / Project 52 / Travel

Project 52 – Week 13 – Spontaneous Vietnam

 

You know in the movies where characters are talking about “flying off to Rome” on a moments notice or spending the weekend in Paris or how the English go off to Spain for the holidays.  It’s hard to do that from Australia.  Sure we can go to New Zealand for the weekend if we really want but heading off to an exotic location on a whim rarely happens given most of these whims involve a 24 hour flight.

So, this week when a friend of mine emailed to say she had to take some leave and did I want to take a trip in a couple of weeks time, my first thought was “you must be joking, there is so much to organise and I have a lot on and I’m not sure if I can leave, can I afford it blah blah blah”.  Then I stopped.  How often does an opportunity like this come up?  We had talked about travelling before but it had never worked out and here was a great opportunity. 

Other than making sure I could actually get some time off, the other debate was where should we go?  I’d been to Hong Kong but she hadn’t.  She had been to Singapore but I hadn’t. Should we do both for a bit, or should we go somewhere entirely different?  After several days of neither of us pushing to get our way (I’m  not sure if that bodes well or badly for our trip) we decided to go somewhere neither of us has been:  Vietnam.

My bestie went there a couple of years back (on her own the brave girl!) and had a fabulous time.  In fact, every single person I’ve spoken to has raved about what a great place it is.  I confess until the fabulous G went there, I had never even considered it.  Now I’m quite excited.

In the space of a few days, we have booked our tickets (there’s a story in that itself but I’ll save that for later), organised an Intrepid tour and had my shots (several, yes they hurt and no I managed not to be a big baby, though I did have to have a nap later on). There’s still a lot to organise (Visa, bag, packing, plugs etc) but it’s very exciting!

I have always wanted to take a spontaneous trip somewhere.  Now I am!

47. Do Something You Have Always Wanted To

It even fits into my tasks! So let’s see how the list is looking:

1. Find A New Music Artist To Love
2. Read A Book By An Author You Haven’t Read Before
3. Have a Body Scrub
4. Do Something Spontaneous
5. Get a Manicure
6. Have A Massage
7. Get Your Hair Done
8. Subscribe to a new podcast
9. Catch Up with an Old Friend
10. Take a class
11. Participate in a fun new challenge
12. Buy A Random Gift For Someone You Love
13. Go On A Picnic
14. Go For A Photo Walk
15. Go To The Beach And Eat Ice Cream
16. Try A New Restaurant
17. Watch A Movie At The Cinema
18. Make A Dessert
19. Bake A New Dish
20. Take A Day Trip To A New Place
21. Do the Hair Dare
22. Do Something Spontaneous
23. Try A New Food
24. Do Something Relaxing
25. Write A Note To Someone Special
26. Do a Craft
27. Do Something You Have Never Done Before
28. See An Exhibition
29. Play A Game
30. Go To The Park
31.
32. Take Someone To Lunch
33. Participate In A Snail Mail Swap
34. Evaluate Your Yearly Goals
35. Lay Out Under The Stars 
36. Buy A New Item Of Clothing
37. Find A Festival To Celebrate In Sydney
38.
39. Learn Something New
40. Watch An Animated Movie With A Child
41. Organise Your Wardrobe
42. Buy Something For Yourself Just Because
43. Put On Some Music And Dance
44. Write An End-Of-Year Highlights List
45. Watch Your Favourite Movie
46. See A Show
47. Do Something You Have Always Wanted To
48. Declutter A Room In Your House
49. Spend A Special Day With A Child
50. Celebrate
51. Wear a different pair of shoes everyday for a week
52. Watch an Artsy Film at a local theatre
53. Have a pedicure with a friend followed by Champagne
54.
55. Write A New Project 52 List

Leave a Reply

