Art / Photography

Weekly Photo Challenge – Dreaming

This week’s challenge was DREAMING.  Boy, how do you even start to encapsulate that?

There are so many things that inspire dreams, that can represent mine (or others) dreams.  Choosing the right shot is a tricky business.   Here I was thinking that this Weekly Photo Challenge would be easy.  That was a mistake.  It is making me think about my choices.  Choose my subjects with care or find a shot I’ve already taken that tells the right story.  It IS a challenge, that’s why I’m enjoying it.

I chose the image below for a number of reasons:

1.  Australia is the land of dreams for many people and the Sydney Harbour Bridge is such an icon for Australia.

2. Australia is the home of the Dreamtime, part of the cultural heritage of the original owners of the land.

3.  This was the first time I’d taken my new tripod out for a spin and was able to properly  use the longer exposure for night time shooting.  The original challenge talked about using longer exposures to present imagery evoking dreams.

I hope you like my shot.  I’m quite proud of it.  I live in a beautiful city, it’s hard not to show her off.

Leave a Reply

