Writing

NaNoWrimo – Week 1 Progress

Today is the 7th of November.  Also known as Day 7 of NaNoWriMo.  Also known as the day I need to have 11,669 words written in my NaNo WIP.

The good news is that I’m starting Day 7 with 13,713 already in the bag.  This gives me 2 days up my sleeves in case of  “stuff” coming up.  You know, like real life.  Everyone has things that crop up in their lives that impact their writing time, by being ahead I am trying to minimize the impact.

In a rash of bravado, I’ve already started my victory post.  Hey, I’m thinking positive.

The writing has gone really well, though I have to admit yesterday was struggle.  This was apparently pretty normal, most people start to struggle by week 2 after the initial writing rush has worn off.  I’ve found keeping my story simple, working on something straight forward without a lot of world building required (last years story was SciFi set in the future – lots of world building required).  Plus I’m enjoying my characters which helps of course.

I am hoping this year to write my story to completion.  That’s what I want to practice, getting a story down, getting the plot points in place.  For the first time I feel confident I’ll be able to do this.  Let’s see if I feel the same way at the end of Week 2.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWrimo – Week 1 Progress

  1. At the risk of sounding extremely unliterary (and probably patronising), “you go gir!l” You are doing a fantastic thing and I admire your persistence enormously. As always, if you feel the need for any support please let me know and I will do whatever my limited skills can do to assist. I’ll follow your quest with great interest. All the best.

Leave a Reply

